Where to turn

Life sucks.  OK, not literally, but there are a lot of circumstances or situations that we get into that just really sucks.  So, where do we turn? Probably to an angry state or maybe try and do or go somewhere else where we can totally just forget about it.  It’s been sort of like one of those weeks for me, not going in the right direction and getting frustrated by it, but trying to change things on my own.  That usually never works.  But the great thing about God is that he comes to us in different ways, speaking to us to open our eyes to what we need to see.  Before heading off to church, I sat down to read the Bible a little and the chapter that I read spoke exactly about what I was struggling with and brought me to my knees.  God was working in my life, even though I was trying to do things on my own the week before, to show me what I needed to do.  At Church, a couple of the songs caught my attention, Strong Tower by Kutless and Grace Like Rain by Todd Agnew.  Here is the lyrics for Strong Tower

When I wonder through the desert        And I’m longing for my home
All my dreams have gone astray.          When I’m stranded in the valley
And I’m tired and all alone                      It seems like I’ve lost my way

I go running to your mountain;            Where your mercy sets me free

You are my strong tower                         Shelter over me,                                                                                                    beautiful and mighty,                                 everlasting king
You are my strong tower                          Fortress when I’m week
Your name is true and holy                      And your face all I see
Your face is all I see

In the middle of my darkness                  In the midst of all my fear
You’re my refuge and my hope              When the storm of life is raging
And the thunders all I hear                      You speak softly to my soul
Now I’m running to your mountain      Where your mercy sets me free.

God is my strong tower and for those that are Christians, he is your strong tower as well.  If we only repent of our ways and turn to him he will cover us with his mighty wings and protect us.  God Loves us, not for the things we do or how good we are, but because he made us in his own image and he has a purpose for us.  Those hard times that we go through, they might just be a testing of our faith, God using those to mold us into what he wants us to be.

The other song was Grace like rain, and it just hit me like a ton of bricks.  I love that song and its lyrics which speaks such truth to the people that sing and play along with the music.  I don’t really want to parapharse it to what I am thinking, becuase of how great those lyrics are.

Amazing grace, how sweet the sound                   That saved a wretch like me
I once was lost but now I’m found                        Was blind but now I see so clearly

Hallelujah, grace like rain falls down on me
Hallelujah, all my stains are washed away, washed away

‘Twas grace that taught my heart to fear                 And grace my fears relieved
How precious did that grace appear                       The hour I first believed

When we’ve been there ten thousand years            Bright shining as the sun
We’ve no less days to sing Your praise                  Than when we first begun

Through those two songs and the sermon that the pastor of Middle Cross Chruch, David Gilmore, spoke on how to have joy even when things are rough and don’t usually go your way, showed me and opened my eyes during my hard time that God was still there, sitting right besides me.  He never left and was speaking to me through those different things.  What a comfort that was for the day, being able to experience God even when I thought I was alone.

If you want to listen to David’s sermon you can listen to it hereGo to Joy Part 2 of 3, November 16

Leave a Reply

