Snippit from Relevant magazine

I’ve been reading through this book that I was able to take from my great friend Joe Ciserella, called “A Deeper Walk: Living for Christ in today’s culture”.  The other day, I read Getting Out of the Faith Ghetto by Dan Buck and yelled out a loud AMEN!  I will share with you a few of the things that he put in there, but I would like for you to read it yourself and decided for yourself if you like it or not.

Postmodernism has given a shot in the arm to spirituality, but unfortunately, it has been relegated to a spot in our daily time between a stop at Starbucks and the health club. We have made God a category in our life. And we think we’re improving in our walk when we spend more time in that category: “The more often I have morning devotionals, the better christian I am.” … We have created an image of mankind that is, in essence, a list: physical, emotional, mental and spiritual. Tournier would argue spirituality is not on that list but at the center of the other three. … Trying to be spiritual away from the rest of our life is like trying to eat with any food or like trying to be a really good driver with ever going down the road. … It is in the living out of our lives that our spirituality can be exercised.  Our spiritual battle is fought a million times a day in a million different ways. It is in the effort we put into our work, its in the way we talk to our loved ones, its in the speed with which we return our neighbors borrowed hedge trimmer.

Within the Church currently there is a strange effort to counteract this effect by bringing our pseudo-spiritual subculture around with us everywhere we go. We turn the world into a large church service full of people who believe like we do and who don’t offend our sensibilities with their sinful behaviors. Opening a phone book, I can find Christian pharmacies, Christian art framing, Christian bakeries and here in my hometown someone has created a business concept out of a cheesy Christian T-shirt. The Lord’s Gym Health and Fitness Centers are dedicated to promoting “Fitness for Body and Soul” and offer classes such as Praise Dance, Body of Armor and Chariots of Fire Spin. Now, some might argue such businesses are a good model of stretching the barriers of our spiritual activity beyond Sunday morning. However, all they are doing is adding spiritual language into things that are naturally spiritual because they are part of the human experience God has created. Taking care of your body is spiritual even if you don’t play the Newsboys while working on your biceps. These “Christian” shops are doing what all the “secular” shops are doing, but to the exclusion of non-believers. Creating places like this completely removes God’s disciples from the world, which doesn’t bode well for the world, and I daresay, ends up hurting the Church as well. ….

Again, the problem is categories. We have categorized ourselves out of the world. Life is one category. Good music, good art, good health and good prescription drugs are innately spiritual if they are in fact good. We don’t need to label something Christian to the exclusion of the rest of the world for it to be good and pure. Because all thing that are good and pure are of God, whether the name on it is Rich Mullins or David Gray. All Truth is God’s truth. If we are seeking God out in everything we do, He will inevitably show up. He doesn’t need labels or categories to find us and we should need them to find Him. Sure, there are experiences you should stay away from, but He has given us a mind, a body of believers and the Holy Spirit to help us decipher what is of Him and what is not. Our categories have become the lazy Christian’s guide to prudence. “I don’t have to worry about what messages are in this movie, it’s Christian.” Not only is that argument a dangerous fallacy, but it also leads to the exclusion of truth God is revealing to us through “non-Christian” sources. … Every experience, every person you meet and every choice you make is a part of the walk. … You don’t have to have all the answers. We’ll have the answers someday, but for now look for God everywhere. And yes, He might even be found in that stupid Elvis song.

I left some sections out, just because the one’s that I did put in there seemed to speak to me the most and I will let you read the whole thing to determine for yourself if you believe this is true or not.

2 Responses to “Snippit from Relevant magazine”

  1. I agree we need to get out of our Christian bubble but I would have felt better about this excerpt if the author backed his position with scripture. Without that it’s just another man’s opinion, just more subjective truth for a post-modern world. But to be fair, I’ll look for God in “Heartbreak Hotel.”

    The Lord bless you
    Terry Michaels
    ‘The preacher who hates religion and loves God’
    http://www.terrymichaels.org

    • Terry, it probably would have been good for the author to have backed up what he said with scripture, but you have to look at the world now a days. Most people hate the church and how it goes about things, and thinks Christians are lunatics. I do agree with you, and this is what I got… 19″For though I am free from all, I have made myself a servant to all, that I might win more of them. 20To the Jews I became as a Jew, in order to win Jews. To those under the law I became as one under the law (though not being myself under the law) that I might win those under the law. 21To those outside the law I became as one outside the law (not being outside the law of God but under the law of Jesus) that I might win those outside the law. 22To the weak I became weak, that I might win the weak. I have become all things to all people, that by all means I might save some. I do it all for the sake of the GOSPEL, that I may share with them in its blessings.” 1 Cor. 9:19-23 Caps included by me, not in Bible

Leave a Reply

