Message on a packet of sugar

Tonight our team went out for our monthly team meal, because three of our team will be leaving for Durban in two days and we wanted to all be together one more time before another month passed.  ( I will talk about the split up in another post)  I picked up one of the packets of sugar on the table and tossed it in the air acouple of times before the food came, (I guess I was sort of impatient with how long I was having to wait for the food).  I put it in my pocket to eat and when I got home actually read what was on the package.  It stated:

Now is no time to think of what you do not have. Think of what you can do with what there is.                           ‘Ernest Hemingway’

Now, I am pretty sure that the place we ate at was not Christian,(or even that Hemingway was either), but I do think that this has a very good point and one that all Christians can continually work on.  A lot of times I ask the question of why I don’t have money to do this or that and why some people that clearly are not Christians and don’t act accordly, get to do what ever they want and usually are wealthy enough for it.  Then I take a step back and actually look at all God has given me, and I can’t believe why I was complaining in the first place.  Being here in South Africa has definitely opened my eyes to how much we have in America and so many of the things that we take for granted.  I am not saying that there isn’t hardship in America, because I know there still is for a lot of people, but as an American, I have so much more that is within reach of my grasp that so many people in other parts of the world will never get the chance to even be close.  People line the grassy places becuase they don’t know what else to do and really can’t do anything else, and hopefully we, as a team, by living here can help some or even one person find their footing and start being able to support themselves as well as the other people in their families.  We should all be thankful of what we have and continually be giving all the glory and honor to God!

One Response to “Message on a packet of sugar”

  1. Great thoughts bro. Pretty humbling when thinking about all I have even though its not money. I can still use all I have and all I do to glorify the Lord. How u doing?

Leave a Reply

