Cat or Dog?

What I could wish for, being a cat or a Dog.  Now you are probably wondering why I am thinking this way.  It is actually not what you might think, but more of an illustration that I heard from one of my friend’s wife and what she had to say about it.

When a cat gets food from their master, they start to think they are pretty special that someone is serving them and giving them what they need.  They look at themselves and see a king or ruler and their master is the one that is under their dominion.  The cat believes that they are so good to get the respect of being served food, and are grateful for what they have done to deserve this.

21For although they knew God, they did not honor him as God or give thanks to him, but they became futile in their thinking, and their foolish hearts were darkened. 22Claiming to be wise, they became fools, 23adn exchanged the glory of the immortal God for images resembling mortal man and birds and animals and reptiles.  Romans 1:21-23

Now on the other hand, when a dog gets food from their master, they start to think of how special their master is for loving them and giving them the food that they need to survive.  They can’t believe how their master would be so kind for them and help them in what they can’t do themselves.  They are grateful for their master and respect the power that the master has for their well being.

I think this has a lot to do with our hearts and how we look at Jesus.  I want to be the dog, knowing that I don’t deserve anything that  I have, and am thankful for what God has given me.  I respect Jesus and what He has done for me on the cross, loving me that much that He took on my sin, that I could not take on my own, and destroyed them when He rose from the dead.  Jesus’ blood blocks the sin and darkness that we deal with everyday, so when God looks at us, he sees us as his children and white as snow.  I am grateful for what Jesus did for me on that horrible wooden cross and will serve and follow Him for the rest of my life!

23For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, 24and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus, 25whom God put forward as a propitiation by his blood, to be received by faith. This was to show God’s righteousness, becuase in his divine forbearance he had passed over former sins.  Romans 3:23-25

2 Cor. 5:17-21

2 Responses to “Cat or Dog?”

  1. Another reason why I hate cats and like dogs! I wanna be a dog too! I like this illustration a lot! Thanks for sharing. Love you!

  2. I always thought there was a Biblical reason why Dog’s are better than cats and now I know. I want to be a dog also.

Leave a Reply

