things put on high…

This goes along with Driscoll’s quote, I posted earler, but I wanted to sort of focus on this part as well.

“People buy things they do not need with money they do not have to impress people they do not even like.”
— George Fooshee

It says in God’s word, “You shall have no other gods before me.” Exodus 20:3 and Deuteronomy 5:7 both have God saying this to His people.  I believe Today that money is a HUGE god of so many people and even those that call themselves Christians.  I even fall into this sin every once in a while, but God always reminds me that it is His money first and He can do with it what He wills.  This quote also talks about impressing people and the want for friends, which has the result of people trying to get a lot of money to have people think better of them.  People can be a god for us as well, putting them and their importance infront of God and His importance and what He has done for our lives.  I know that is one thing I use to struggle with, and maybe every once in a while now as well, but God has helped me realize how much He has done in my life and through it and how I haven’t done a single thing to deserve anything that God has done.  He brought me to Himself and is using me to bring others to Himself as well.  All I need is Him and I will truly be satisfied.  So will you, if you place Him at the top of everything else!

Leave a Reply

