so unworthy

There are just some points in my life where I see my wrong and the sin within, maybe by comparing what I do to someone else, and wonder how I could deserve such grace.  How many times have I walked away from Him, or been a hypocrite, pretending that I was a Christian but living the way that I wanted to live in my dark little hole.  I’ve seen so many other people that look and do so many good things, and have wondered why me and not them, but that is how grace works.  See, its really not the fact of what I have done to be deserving of any of what God has given me, but its hopefully the praise and adoration that will come from a heart that knows without Christ it is worth nothing and having God get all of the praise and glory.  And for those that look good and do great things, they pretty much have believed in themselves and will believe in themselves until something big changes their lives, or they meet the Creator face to face on that Judgment day.  I am humbled each and everyday for what God has done in my life and the chance for me to be in Heaven with Him when I die.

Here is an excerpt from a friend, and I think he explains it well enough for everyone to understand where we stand with Christ:

Every now and then I realize anew how unworthy I am of everything that God does for me every day; the way He loves me absolutely unconditionally. That’s when I break. When this happens, it is usually the highlight of my week. Is this strange to you? What does the Bible say on this?

Read Luke 7:36-48. (own commentary) The woman, a “known sinner” cries, washes His feet with her tears, dries it with her hair and anoints His feet at huge expense while the watching pharisee judges. Jesus’ response?  v47 “But to whom little is forgiven, the same loves little.”

Jesus tells us that the most important important thing we can do is to love God(Mat 22:37). If we’re honest with ourselves about where we are(and as Paul points out in Rom 3, we’re all in a bad place), we will love Him more.

CS Lewis puts it this way: “Knowledge of broken law precedes all other religious experience.” Not to condemning us, but making us realize our constant need for our Savior!

Jesus speaks about Himself in Luke 20:17-18: The stone which the builders rejected, has become the chief cornerstone. Whoever falls on that stone will be broken; but on whomever it falls, it will grind him to powder.

Personally, I choose being broken.      André Baladi

Leave a Reply

