Oh me and the law

I could probably write a book about the different experiences that I have had with law enforcement over the past 10 or so years, but I won’t.  I will explain what happened to me the last night that myself and James would probably be in Jo-Burg for a while.  I did not get arrested, I did forget my license, and we did switch drivers and got away without any hassle.

To start off, I went for a run today at the Sports complex that is on the other side of Duncan (i.e. street name in Pretoria) and decided to put all of my pocket items in my bag, one of which was my wallet that I put in my side compartment, for some reason that I can’t figure out right now.  Came home after a good run and taking some pictures around the complex, and got ready to head to Jo-Burg for a night with a couple of friends that went to school at the University of Johannesburg, Lerato and Balokile. As we got into the car and started to drive out of our apartment, I stated that I forgot my wallet (and so my license), but it was OK cause I had money in my pocket and the police never really do anything anyways around here, from what I had seen.

The end of the night we were dropping the guys off at their homes and ran into a road block.  I rolled down the window and she asked if I had my license. I looked at James, either thinking he could do something magical or that we had just talked about this earlier in the evening, I looked back at the officer and said I didn’t have it.  She went through a great long spiel about “if you get into a car you should have your license… before you put the key in the ignition you should have your license…” which was all true, but sort of funny.  Then she asked if I drank at all tonight, and I told here nothing but water.  So, I pulled over to the side of the road (which was in a suburb part of Jo-Burg), after hearing I might need to get breathalyzed, and waited for what was to happen.  Myself and James, mostly James, told her what we were doing and who we were, where we were from, that sort of thing. James said that he could drive and she right away said “why don’t you drive, since you have the license.” That was a great deal for us and she let a go.  It was definitely the grace of God that nothing else happened and for her being so gracious to us in just letting us go. I could have been close to jail in two countries, not just one.

One Response to “Oh me and the law”

  1. I’m glad you didn’t get arrested. Come home to us Rylan. I don’t want to visit you in an African jail, or any jail for that matter:)

Leave a Reply

