Came to my rescue

Come to my rescue

Falling on my knees in worship

Giving all I am to seek your face

Lord, all I am is yours

My whole life I place in Your hands

God of mercy humbled I bow down

In Your presence at Your throne

I called, You answered

And you came to my rescue and I,

I want to be where You are

In my life be lifted high

In our world be lifted high

In our love be lifted high

I do like this song, but some people could look at this as a song singing about us and not fully about God and Jesus Christ. It is tough though to figure out what exactly are biblical songs that are directed at God and not focused too much on us as humans.  This song still has a good message to it, even though it might be skewed in the focus of the song.  The part I am mostly focusing on is the chorus, where it says “I called, You answered; And you came to my rescue and I, I want to be where You are.” God did come to our rescue and we should want to be where He is, but us calling Him is something I don’t believe is true.  No one is going around saying “Hey God, I’m here! Help me out!” Usually, we rebell and want to do our own thing. It is not until the Holy Spirit come’s upon us and puts the regreat of what we just did.  God called us, those that are His children and the elect.  Our sinful natures did nothing before God sprouted a response in our soul.

This is how I think that part should go: “You called, I answered; And you came to my rescue and I, I want to be where You are.”  Another thing with the song, is a lot of times Christians just sing it and never really think to understand what they are saying.  “Falling on our knees; giving all we are; all we are is His; whole life in His hands; humbled we bow down; Life, world, love, God should be lifted high”.  These things are huge in someone’s life, becuase of how much we want to be able to control somethings.  We should be giving our alls to Him, and I even know of myself that I don’t do it all the time, but we need to keep that thinking constantly in our minds and ask God for help as well.

Leave a Reply

