Me and my ride

It has been an interesting experience with  the cars that I’ve had, which has only been three so far, but all of them have given me some memories I will never forget.  My first two cars and the memories that came from them were mostly brought on by my foolishness and dumb thinking, which got me into some accidents and tickets that weren’t much fun to handle. My latest car has probably given me the most laughter at what has happened and many times where I can totally see God working through those situations that I am in.

My Thundy has put me in a couple of harsh predicaments the last few years (set apart this last year when I was in South Africa), one involving the law that I won’t talk too much about, and the second one came while I was driving.  The week before Christmas came this year, Thundy starting acting up as I was driving into Lincoln to see my sisters and some other friends.  As I turned on Old Cheney, my car started shaking and a very loud noise exploded into my ears, while the steering wheel locked up and the engine revved with little movement in the car.  I was able to make it to my sisters place off of 34th street, with the help of a couple of slopes, and parked in their parking lot.  Come to find out that my damper pulley, the big pulley helping the belt spin, broke off as well as my belt and I was running with little to nothing on the movements of the car.  There was a pretty bad storm coming through Lincoln, starting right about the time when my car started acting up, so it was a great blessing by God to allow me to get to my sisters place. 

Through the ordeal, I know that God was working and there for me every second my car was having problems. It’s not coincidence that Thundy broke down not three blocks or so from where my sisters lived and not on the interstate or another part of Lincoln.  The damper pulley had been cracked for a long time, so it really could have happened at any other time than that specific one.  The repair shop even found a part for 500 less than what they were thinking of and the cost was not at all what they were thinking to begin with.  God kept me safe through the whole ordeal and allowed me to not go bankrupt, which always a nice plus.

Leave a Reply

